Phillip Island MotoGP: Vinales fastest again as wind wrecks session

Phillip Island MotoGP: Vinales fastest again as wind wrecks session

Yamaha MotoGP rider Maverick Vinales topped third practice for the Australian Grand Prix on Saturday, as strong wind at Phillip Island restricted track running to a bare minimum.

Only four riders had set a time in the first 20 minutes of the session, with the quickest lap more than seven seconds slower than Friday’s benchmark.

Mika Kallio and Pol Espargaro broke the silence by venturing out on track with 23 minutes on the clock, but both returned to the KTM garage at the end of their out-laps, neither opting to set a flyer.

Suzuki’s Joan Mir did a similar abortive run and it wasn’t until the final 10 minutes before more timed laps were set, with Marc Marquez leading.

Marquez immediately bettered Zarco’s previous time of 1m35.628s, and then lowered the benchmark further to 1m31.577s.

The Honda rider pitted with just over a minute to run, allowing Vinales to snatch the fastest time with 1m31.338s – ensuring he topped the leaderboard for a third consecutive session at Phillip Island.

Espargaro ended up third fastest behind Marquez, nearly 1.5s off the pace, while Zarco was fourth for his new team LCR Honda after improving to 1m33.630s in the closing stages of the session.

Petronas SRT Yamaha’s Fabio Quartararo returned to the track for the first time since his heavy crash in first practice and set the sixth-fastest time, but it wasn’t enough to earn him an automatic berth in Q2.

Kallio was seventh quickest aboard the second factory KTM, ahead of Alex Rins, Franco Morbidelli and Francesco Bagnaia – who completed the top 10.

Avintia’s Karel Abraham and LCR Honda rider Cal Crutchlow were 11th and 12th respectively, with the remaining 10 riders not setting a timed lap due to tricky conditions.

The session was red-flagged early on when Jack Miller’s pitboard was bizarrely blown away by heavy wind, falling on the start/finish straight.

With times more than three seconds off Friday’s pace, there was no change in the overall classifications, meaning both Quartararo and Zarco will have to go through Q1, along with Honda’s Jorge Lorenzo.

Practice three times

Pos Rider Bike Time Gap Laps
1 Maverick Vinales Yamaha 1m31.338s 7
2 Marc Marquez Honda 1m31.577s 0.239s 7
3 Pol Espargaro KTM 1m32.989s 1.651s 15
4 Johann Zarco Honda 1m33.630s 2.292s 11
5 Jack Miller Ducati 1m34.248s 2.910s 7
6 Fabio Quartararo Yamaha 1m34.844s 3.506s 7
7 Mika Kallio KTM 1m35.051s 3.713s 10
8 Alex Rins Suzuki 1m35.263s 3.925s 4
9 Franco Morbidelli Yamaha 1m35.473s 4.135s 8
10 Francesco Bagnaia Ducati 1m35.747s 4.409s 8
11 Karel Abraham Ducati 1m35.990s 4.652s 7
Cal Crutchlow Honda 1m47.649s 16.311s 4
Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 0
Danilo Petrucci Ducati 0
Andrea Iannone Aprilia 0
Joan Mir Suzuki 0
Aleix Espargaro Aprilia 0
Valentino Rossi Yamaha 0
Tito Rabat Ducati 0
Hafizh Syahrin KTM 0
Miguel Oliveira KTM 0
Jorge Lorenzo Honda 0

Published at Sat, 26 Oct 2019 01:04:30 +0000

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *